Vintage and Retro Fabrics

I have recently started sewing. At first I borrowed my mother-in-law’s sewing machine to do a couple of small projects. I liked it so much that I asked for a sewing machine for Christmas and have been making more things. Thanks to Mary Catherine’s sewing workshop (http://ourhappylittlenest.blogspot.com), I can now make some clothes! Since then, I have also realized how ridiculously expensive kids clothes are – you can make a majority of girls clothes for about 1/10 of the price. Too bad I don’t have a little girl, but I can make dresses and skirts for friends and family. I just found a great web site that offers a “unique selection of fabulous vintage reproduction and retro fabrics, conversation and novelty prints plus hard-to-find japanese import fabrics” (http://www.reprodepot.com). Most of the fabric is priced by the 1/2 yd and is a bit pricey but it is truly unique. Check it out, especially if you need to make a period piece or a Halloween costume!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love that site and love the vintage kids fabrics! I’ve purchased from them a few too many times. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Drew on February 22, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    I am re-learning how to sew also! And I am really struggling with things to make for boys…sorry Reaves! I haven’t mastered pants yet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

